Updates with Kimberly & My July 2019 TBR

Hello everybody!

You may have noticed I took a break from this blog and my bookstagram during the month of June. This was because I ended up getting sick and wanted to focus on feeling like myself again before I jumped back into sharing content with you all; I’m happy to say that I’m doing better now and am eager to get some reading done as well as write more blog posts for you all to enjoy!

I thought that July would be a fun month to set a TBR because I have my birthday on the 18th (I’ll be turning 22 in case anyone was curious!) and I wanted to give myself a challenge because I’ve been in a bit of a funk these past two months (I’ve read books I’ve enjoyed, but my motivation to read as a whole has been low compared to earlier this year!) and maybe pushing myself to pick up books I’m really excited for could be the thing to break that cycle.

Without further ado, let’s get to my July TBR!

  1. On The Come Up by Angie Thomas

I’m not going to lie, I’ve owned this book for months and still haven’t read a single page because it never seems like the “right time” to. I really enjoyed Angie’s first book, The Hate U Give, when I read it last year and I’m going to go along with the saying that there’s no perfect time like the present and just finally read it and see what I think!

2. Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore

I’ve been eager to read more by Anna-Marie ever since I finished Blanca y Roja last year. Her writing style is absolutely beautiful and I’m curious to see how these characters will compare to those in the last book I read of hers (what I mean by this is that I really appreciated how real the characters in the story felt to me as I was reading and wonder if that feeling occur in my reading experience with Wild Beauty as well).

3. It’s Not Like It’s A Secret by Misa Sugiura

If I’m honest, I can’t quite remember how I happened to receive an e-copy of this book (I think I received it for completing a book related survey or something of that sort?) and because it’s not on my Kindle app but a different one (it’s called BookShout!), I’ve forgotten about the fact that I have had this book available to me to read. Upon looking the story up on Goodreads, I’m intrigued to see how the book as a whole will unfold.

Overall, I’m really excited to get into these stories and share with you all my thoughts come the end of July. If you feel comfortable doing so, let me know a book you’re hoping to read during this month and how you heard about it!

One thought on “Updates with Kimberly & My July 2019 TBR

  1. hi, nice to meet you (and I’m glad you’re feeling better).
    I still have to read THUG, honestly, and it’s been on my TBR pile forever. I’ll be sure to check if you like On The Come Up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment